Sports cars / Wishlist Wednesday

Cars I’d like to test drive, but could never afford #1

#1 Mercedes-Benz AMG GT

01-2016-mercedes-amg-gt-fd-1

2017 MSRP base price $111,200

Since it’s unveiling at the 2014 Paris Motor Show, around 1,200 have been sold a year in the US. Since this is at the top of my list, I doubt many (if any) have hit the used car market. It is still in production and available at the dealers!

Why I’d test drive it:

When I saw the GT for the first time I was taken back to a time when sports cars were also hot rods. This fine automobile looks beautiful from any angle. The long hood, sporty lines and a rumble worthy of a muscle car captivated me. The light weight aluminium body is powered by a twin-turbo 4L V8. I can forgive the forced induction on a small displacement engine when it puts out at least 450 bhp. There is a naturally aspirated 6.2L V8 in the GT3 racing version that produces 622 hp, but those aren’t allowed on this list.

Motor Trend named the GT-S The Best Driver’s Car for 2015. I’ll let you know if it is when I test drive it!

Leave a Reply

