Wishlist Wednesday

Cars I’d like to test drive, but could never afford #9

#9 Ferrari 458 Speciale

 

ferrari-458-speciale-white

Base model original MSRP: $225,000

The 458 was in production for only five years with approximately 18,000 made. Only 499 Speciales were planned to be made between 2013 and 2015.

I’m not a huge fan of Ferrari, so this car is low on the list, and I’d have to have it in a color other than red or yellow. It’s just too cliché. You know if I ever actually test drove a Ferrari, I might lose my prejudice.

Why this car?

This is the last Ferrari V8 to hold out on forced induction. The 458 has a naturally aspirated 4.5L V8 that produces 570 hp. I’ve always been impressed with European sports cars that can achieve high performance from small displacement engines without using forced induction.

I would certainly like to have included a V12 car as Ferrari is one of only five manufacturers that build twelve cylinder engines for cars today (i’ll have to wrote about that sometime). Unfortunately, the current lineup of models with the 12 cylinder prancing pony is well above the $250,000 threshold, and I wouldn’t consider a used Ferrari.

Leave a Reply

