Car Flix - reviews

One Last Ride… Furious 7

If you’re a car enthusiast and have been eagerly waiting to see this film, I don’t see why you’re still at home reading this post and not in line to see this film. Get off your ass and go see it.

As I’ve mentioned in my Must See Summer Movie List, I usually like to catch a movie during matinee times on opening day to avoid the obnoxious crowd and theater audience. I just returned from watching this film, and as per my usual movie experiences I didn’t memorize the whole thing or could quote dialogue from it. Side note, an interesting movie preview I saw while I was there: Transporter Refueled, more on that later.

tower jump stuntI don’t think I really was compelled to watch this movie on opening day because of some really cool stunt or interesting plot. Sure, I had some curiosity about how Paul Walker’s character would be entwined in the story with his tragic accident happening during filming, however the story line has never been a signature of the Fast and Furious franchise. It’s always been about the cars and their drivers. In fact one movie review revealed that a tribute to Paul appears at the end before the credits rolled. That’s what sold my ticket.

As I sat through the credits (another movie ritual) and drove home without the radio on, all I could remember from the film was the tribute. There was tremendous action. Ridiculously awesome cars. And an overwhelming presence of family.

The Fast and The Furious, 2 Fast 2 Furious, Tokyo Drift, Fast and Furious, Fast 5, Fast & Furious 6, and the final chapter. The vibe of this film was the same as knowing that the final page is coming and you know the action is drawing to a close with a final bang and a goodbye.

I have fond memories of when I went with my friends to see the first movies when they came out. We will miss you Paul.

“I don’t have friends. I have family.” ~Dominic Toretto

fast adn furious family

Vin Diesel reveals that there may be an 8th and 9th installment with the introduction of Kurt Russell’s character in this interview with Jimmy Kimmel. However, as a gesture of respect to the fans so they may have closure for Paul, none of the actors are distracting the fans with talk of a next installment. So, Fast and Furious may not be out of fuel yet. Just a driver change and a pit stop.

Oh and that Transporter Refueled trailer. Releases in September. I’ll discuss that in my Holiday must see movie list post. Or sooner if I get really impressed with news before then.

Leave a Reply

