Cars and their stories

One Man and 2 rides (part 3)

Wait. Why would a single person living alone have more than one car? The second one is not a work vehicle. It doesn’t belong to a girlfriend, friend, or family member. It’s not a recreational vehicle.
So why?

Well… maybe it’s a special use vehicle. As a guy, most everything I have is functional, so the truck should serve a purpose.

Neon1995

Not my actual car, but this is what it looked like.

If you recall from part 1, I was used to having a small college car. I ended up moving to Utah after graduating from Montana State University. To move all my accumulated “stuff”, I had to get help. My parents still had the Suburban then, and they pulled a U-haul trailer I rented while I followed in my little Neon. After making my first major move, having a utility vehicle was appealing.

So come the time I was seriously considering getting a new set of keys, I was in possession of a little blue car and a slightly larger Blue Beast I had picked up while visiting my parents over Thanksgiving weekend. Winter was coming to an end, and I wanted to get back down to one vehicle. I felt the obligation to still try and sell the Suburban as per my father’s request, but he was just happy it wasn’t taking up space in his back yard.

1951 Chevy 1 tonI wanted to sell the Suburban and swap out my car for something newer, until I spotted the ad for a 1951 Chevy truck. It was cheap and looked like it was in running condition. I figured I could get used to driving a truck instead of a car like my dad’s daily driver.  Looking back, I still shake my head at how little I realized how deep the water was that I was about to jump into. Never buy on impulse!

Things shook out like this. I bought the truck.

I now had three vehicles! I had to get rid of something. The Neon was the easy sell. I would drive the Suburban while the truck should only take a few months of concentrated effort to get it road worthy and then onto selling the Suburban off. That’s when I realized how deep the water was. Summer was over, and the truck still wasn’t ready to license. (Utah requires vehicles to pass a safety inspection each year prior to registering and getting your annual tags.)

I spent $1000 to have the seat rebuilt and covered in high quality leather.

I spent $1000 to have the seat rebuilt and covered in high quality, durable leather.

Time would pass. The word money pit suddenly had real meaning. I knew it would take money. In fact my justification for buying the truck was that I could spend money on the restoration as opposed to a car loan payment. The difficulty lies in having to keep a second vehicle around to get you to work everyday while work continues on the replacement vehicle. As the summer season and money permitted I’d get bits done, however I would lose interest in using the planned credit line to invest in the restoration.

I would move again. This time with ease since I had a Suburban. Everything fits inside the spacious interior, and with some planning I could make multiple trips for the in-town residence change. Because of where I was moving to however, I would have to park my truck in a storage facility and tinker when I had a chance to stop by. That’s where Duke sleeps now. My vehicle number 2.

.
Left profile

I still want my current choice sedan for winter driving, and Duke would be a fun summer run-around truck. It is only rear wheel drive, so winter driving would be squirrelly or pricey on gas with a loaded rear axle for traction. Duke has a 9 foot length bed area. That’s plenty of room for my “stuff.” Functional, remember?

No, I won’t help you move.

6 thoughts on “One Man and 2 rides (part 3)

  1. I kinda miss your dad’s ol’ truck. It was vintage, just like he was. Duke will be a fun ride for you, too, once he gets put together.
    Thank you for tossing your hat into the ring at the Party Under The Big Top! I hope to see you again next week!
    #BigTopBlogParty

    Like

  2. I absolutely LOVE Duke and there is no way I would be able to part with him! I think it’s great that you are restoring Duke and can’t wait to see him when he’s all finished! In my opinion quit trying to be so rational about owing two vehicles…. After all we only live once so live it the way YOU want and as long as you aren’t hurting anyone else in the process there is no need to think twice about they way YOU are doing it! 😉

    Thank you for linking up with us at Party Under the Big Top! I’m glad you were able to make it over to the #BigTopBlogParty this week! Hope to see you again at the next Party Under the Big Top! As a reminder, we go LIVE every Tuesday morning at midnight EST!

    Wishing you a fabulous week!

    Much love,

    Lysa xx
    Welcome to My Circus
    #BigTopBlogParty

    Like

  3. Pingback: Party Under the Big Top ~ Act Five

  4. Pingback: Wednesday Wishlist: Cars I’d like to drive, but not own #8 | One Man Alone

  5. Pingback: Wednesday Wishlist: Cars I’d like to drive, but not own #8 | Car Show Candids

Leave a Reply

