Cars and their stories

The Car I Want Now (part 2)

While driving home from Christmas vacation, I was coming down the east side of Lookout Pass in Montana. The road was icy in the shady places, and my Suburban was only in RWD. I would eventually do a 360 and tag the guard rail with both bumpers before coming to a stop. During the wild ride, the only worry I had on my mind was how much damage I’d do to the truck, so I tried to keep it in the lane and away from the guardrail. Fortunately, the GMC Suburban has all-steel bumpers, and I drove away with what appeared to be only a few dings and scratches… in 4WD. When I got home and made a closer examination, I noticed that the “Blue Beast” was really a rusty old ride. I should be thinking of what my transportation plans would be if she got too damaged to repair.

I began searching the local online car ads again. I still wanted an AWD car, under $10k, nicer features than a teenager’s car, and dark blue if possible. My search led me to the usual Subaru’s and crossover SUVs, but then I noticed the BMW section. Sure, there was the X3 and X5, but I also saw a few “xi” models. I researched the model trims and grew fond of the BMW 330xi. Naturally I wanted the Oriental Blue exterior with Sand Leather upholstery. That’s a rare combination, not to mention the 330xi is rare to find listed at all.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As a stroke of coincidence, one day I was watching an old episode of Fifth Gear (a British car show) where the presenter, Tom Ford, prophesied, “everyone wants a hot hatch in their twenties, a fast Bimmer in their thirties. In your forties, anything in a short skirt and a pulse, and in your fifties you always end up wanting a Jag.” I guess that seems true for me, at least for my thirties.

What I like about the 330xi is that it is essentially the Outback LL Bean Edition but in a luxury sedan model. It has a straight six engine which is the top of line without getting the M3. And it has a sunroof!

Another interesting feature is the auto-stick transmission that comes standard. I’ve never driven one before, so that would be interesting. Some added bonuses include a similar insurance rate to what I pay now (most available models are around 10 years old), better gas mileage, and it’s a sedan. I haven’t driven a sedan for a couple of years now. Oh I still have Duke, and I intend to eventually make him a summer driver. But he’ll need a cash infusion before completion, and the purchase of a newer car would push back that project.

Missed the first part of the story? Check out part 1 here.

4 thoughts on “The Car I Want Now (part 2)

  1. It’s definitely time to get something that is a little more cost effective. I remember wanting a bimmer in my twenties.. now that I’m old, I just prefer something that comes with a driver!
    Thank you for tossing your hat into the ring at the Party Under The Big Top! I hope to see you again next week!
    #BigTopBlogParty

    Like

  2. That’s funny because like Mary, I also wanted a Bimmer in my twenties and now in my 40’s a Cadillac is what I’ve been looking at most recently. Not one of the old grandma ones that are a mile long but the newer sportier versions… I even dig the station wagon they have out if were being honest here! 😉 I wish you luck on finding that “perfect” car that was made just for you!

    Thank you for joining us and linking up to Party Under the Big Top! Hope to see you again next time!

    Wishing you a fabulous week!

    Much love,
    Lysa xx
    Welcome to My Circus
    #BigTopBlogParty

    Like

  3. Pingback: The car I thought I wanted (part 1) | One Man Alone

  4. Pingback: The car I thought I wanted (part 1) | Car Show Candids

Leave a Reply

