Cars and their stories

Chevy C1-ME

For some time, and like all car guys, I imagine little tweaks I’d like to do to customize some of my favorite cars. I have a laundry list.

1940s COE Dodge with a rollback platform for hauling cars
1969 Chevy Nova with new suspension , engine, and paint scheme
C1 Corvette converted to mid-engine layout
1938 Dodge sedan stretched limo
1956 Chevy Bel Air with electric motor and lightened body weight

and the list goes on.

As of late when I get a moment I think about one or two of these cars, and I recently have actually put pencil to paper for some of the more complex ones. I have chosen the third one on the list above.

There are a lot of technical things that aren’t illustrated in sketches, and my thoughts dwell on those particularly. But, having an image to look at to help concentrate is helpful. Technically, it would be a RMR layout (rear-mount mid engine, rear drive). The transmission hangs out past the rear axle shafts and is conjoined with the rear differential.  The entire cockpit of the car has to move forward, which is the artist bit I tried to draw. (Add drawing to the list of things I don’t do really well. I traced some pictures and penciled in the changes.) Take a gander.

A few other features include rear engine intake incorporated from a screened scoop from the stylized coves prominent on the 1956 Corvette (which I styled from), rear glass window that lifts for engine access (taken from the C4 rear window/trunk design),  and a non-removable hardtop.

I have in mind two engine options: the classic dual-quad 409 engine that never appeared in the Corvette and a true direct fuel injected 283.  I considered the 409 for the true hardtop version of this car with the ‘glass showcase’ rear window, and I would call her the 409 Vette. However the C1 is a fantastic roadster and shouldn’t be topped. I think the roadster version (not sketched yet) should get the DFI 283, since it is period appropriate and size appropriate for an open roadster. That one I would simply call the C1-ME.

Leave a Reply

